Da Baby, someone with perhaps the worse name in hip-hop history, has finally decided to release his debut album titled “Baby On Baby.” Do you expect greatness? I do!





“Walker Texas Ranger” was my introduction to DaBaby, and my oh my, it was quite the introduction. On it, the Charlotte rapper was able to gift the world with this vibrant track that features a catchy display of flows and lyrics with equally clever and unique visuals on the video to it. There wasn’t a moment during this song that I wasn’t bobbing my head.

I don’t know about you, but I thought Walker Texas Ranger was a horrible show.




“Baby Sitter” is yet another song in which Da Baby threatens his foes with violence and the thievery of their women. He also lets the world know that he’s the best thing since sliced bread over and over again on his verses. What I do find unique about the song is its bedraggled instrumental and how Baby raps with this steady flow over it. The n***a was absolutely relentless.

Offset’s verse on “Baby Sitter’ is the best on this album. On it, he hits us with tricky flows, witty punchlines and clever lyrical content. Listeners will love how he rides the beat to the song, in addition to how focused he sounds.

I like the combination of Offset and Da Baby on songs together.




Da Baby is mad disrespectful in “Goin Baby.” On it, he brags about snatching n***as souls by flashing his money in their faces, stealing their women and challenging their grit. As usual, I f**k with how he was able to keep our attention through appealing bars and a level of confidence that is untamed. I also f**k with the flute-heavy instrumental he raps over and how that s**t rattles housing foundations and s**t.

I guess going baby is supposed to be a good thing?




“Suge” is a grungy banger that has Da Baby rapping with this rugged approach that will intimidate many. Content-wise, he talks about his knack for hustling and making moves similar to a CEO, which also comes with disrespect towards our wifey’s and slaps to our faces. I think the track is heinous enough to be felt, and memorable enough to catch the attention of club-goers.

N***as want to be Suge, but Suge is in jail right now…




“Best Friend” is a heavily remixed version of XXXTENTACION’s “SAD” hit (It features flipped versions of both the hook and beat). On it, Da Baby and featured guest Rich The Kid go back and forth on some reckless s**t, talking about playing women, dripping and spending cold hard cash.

Though the heart of this song is petty, I do f**k with the catchy hook Da Baby was able to deliver on it. I also f**k with Rich The Kid’s zany verse and the bass boomin’ instrumental. Frfr, each aspect makes it impossible to hate.

Can n***as please grow up? That whole ‘f**k your best friend’ s**t is disrespectful these days; ask Tristan Thompson.


1. TAKING IT OUT (3.5/5)

2. SUGE (4/5)

3. GOIN BABY (4/5)

4. PONY (3.5/5)

5. DEAL WITH IT (4/5)

6. BABY SITTER (3.5/5)

7. CELEBRATE (3.5/5)

8. JOGGERS (3/5)

9. CARPET BURN (4/5)

10. BEST FRIEND (4/5)

11. TUPAC (3/5)

12. BACKEND (3.5/5)






  • I love how hard Da Baby raps. You can tell he’s been inkling to make his mark in the game for a while, because every line he delivers is met with force and intensity. I can respect that a lot, and see this aspect of his artistry allowing him to have a long-lasting career.
  • Da Baby’s confidence is pretty impressive. He knows he’s the s**t, which translates to punchlines that are rigid, unruffled flows and lyrical content that is as strong as it gets. Never once did I question the validity of his verses, even though he was practically covering the same topics throughout this album.
  • Da Baby is refreshingly gangsta. Not an ounce of fakeness is in his blood. Throughout this album, he intimidates, doing everything he can to make you want to punch him in his face. In order to succeed in the rap game, you have to come across as a legit bad guy at times.
  • Interestingly, the short tracks on this album were fantastic! I thought “Deal Wit It,” “Carpet Burn” and “Take It Out” were all dynamic. Frfr, those were some of my favorite joints.
  • Offset’s verse on “Baby Sitter” was phenomenal! Matter of fact, I think it’s a must-listen. Rich The Kid and Rich Homie Quan also shined on their respective guest appearances.
  • Every single beat on this album is on some trunk-rattling s**t. If you play any of them in your car, your speaker system better be top notch.



  • While Da Baby sounded confident in his raps, he did sound a bit shaky in his singing. S**t, I’m not sure he ever took a single part in which he needed to sing seriously. I did f**k with his melodies and effort when it came to harmonizing.
  • Da Baby left much to be desired when it came to subject-matters on this album. For a good chunk of it, he talked about stealing our chicks, whooping people’s asses and making money. At a certain point, I get it, you are a savage n***a; what else can you talk about?
  • This n***a Da Baby thinks he’s the best thing since sliced bread. His arrogance is susceptible to industry beef.

Overall, I think “Baby on Baby” is beyond a solid effort by Da Baby. I don’t think there is a single bad track on it, which says a lot for a new artist that relatively blew up out of nowhere.